Alan Souza named MVP in 2019 Men’s World Cup


Brazil's Alan Souza collected the MVP award at the 2019 FIVB Volleyball Men's World Cup.

Hiroshima, Japan, October 15, 2019 – Brazil opposite Alan Souza was named Most Valuable Player of the 2019 FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Cup after leading his team to an undefeated run and to a third title in the competition.

Alan and his teammates completed the golden run after beating Italy 3-0 (25-20, 25-22, 25-15) at the Hiroshima Green Arena on Tuesday to sweep the tournament.

Alan tallied 165 points from 140 attacks, 10 blocks and 15 aces.

He was joined in the Dream Team by two members of the gold-medal winning Brazilian squad - Lucas Saatkamp as Best Middle Blocker and Thales Hoss as Best Libero.

The 2019 FIVB Volleyball Men's World Cup Dream Team (left to right): Wilfredo Leon (Poland), Yuki Ishikawa (Japan), Max Holt (USA), Lucas Saatkamp (Brazil), Alan Souza (Brazil), Yuji Nishida (Japan), Micah Christenson (USA) and Thales Hoss (Brazil).

Wilfredo Leon, who helped Poland finish in second place also made it to the Dream Team as Best Outside Spiker, while two members each from the United States and Japan completed the Dream Team list.

USA’s Maxwell Holt received the Best Middle Blocker award and Micah Christenson got the Best Setter award, while Japan’s scoring tandem of Yuki Ishikawa and Yuji Nishida bagged Best Outside Spiker and Best Opposite awards, respectively.

2019 FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Cup Dream Team
Best Outside Spikers: Wilfredo Leon (POL), Yuki Ishikawa (JPN)
Best Middle Blockers: Maxwell Holt (USA), Lucas Saatkamp (BRA)
Best Libero: Thales Hoss (BRA)
Best Setter: Micah Christenson (USA)
Best Opposite: Yuji Nishida (JPN)
Most Valuable Player: Alan Souza (BRA)