Volleyball Challenger Cup battle begins in Peru for one ticket to 2019 Women's VNL


Peru and Colombia are two of the six teams seeking a place in the 2019 FIVB Volleyball Nations League.

Lausanne, Switzerland, June 19, 2018 - Peru host Australia, Bulgaria, Colombia, Hungary and Puerto Rico in Lima at the FIVB Women's Volleyball Challenger Cup, starting Wednesday, to decide one team that will make it to the 2019 FIVB Volleyball Nations League.

The winner of the Volleyball Challenger Cup, a new competition to complement the Volleyball Nations League, gets promotion to next year's edition, replacing the bottom-ranked of the Challenger teams in the VNL.

In this year's case, it's been Argentina who ranked last amongst the Challenger Teams in the 2018 VNL and have been relegated. The other three Challenger Teams in the VNL were Belgium, the Dominican Republic and Poland.

The six participating teams (1 host and 5 teams from continental VCC qualification tournaments - two from Europe and one each from Asia, South American and North Central America & Caribbean) are divided into two pools of three. The top two of each pool advance to crosswise semifinals, followed by a bronze medal match and final.

Pool A: Peru, Colombia, Hungary
Pool B: Australia, Bulgaria, Puerto Rico

Full schedule of the 2018 FIVB Women's Volleyball Challenger Cup in Lima (all times local, GMT-5):

Wednesday, June 20:
17:00 - Bulgaria v Australia
19:00 - Peru v Colombia

Thursday, June 21:
17:00 - Puerto Rico v Australia
19:00 - Colombia v Hungary

Friday, June 22:
17:00 - Puerto Rico v Bulgaria
19:00 - Peru v Hungary

Saturday, June 23:
17:00 - Semifinal 1A v 2B
19:00 - Semifinal 1B v 2A

Sunday, June 24:
16:00 - Bronze medal match
18:00 - Final