Volleyball Nations League Men’s Final Six headed for dramatic showdown in Lille


Lausanne, Switzerland, June 25, 2018 – The final weekend of pool play went down to the wire but it was the USA, Russia, Brazil, Serbia and Poland who will join hosts France for the first ever Volleyball Nations League (VNL) Men’s Finals in Lille!

Stade Pierre Mauroy is ready to host the ultimate volleyball party, and with world-renowned DJs NERVO performing ahead of the gold medal match, fans are in for a spectacular night of sporting and musical entertainment. 

France finished first in the standings but as hosts of the Finals in Lille, their place was already secured. The USA were next to book their spot in the Finals, winning an all-important point on Friday night against France. They were soon joined by Russia, who beat Italy in straight sets to guarantee their place, with the result also securing the spot of reigning Olympic champions Brazil.

A Serbian victory on Saturday was enough for the two-time European champions to go through, leaving Poland and Italy to battle for the last remaining spot. It all came down to the final day as Poland gave travelling fans something to cheer about; an emphatic three-set victory over their Australian hosts. 

Korea finished bottom of the VNL standings and will be replaced in next year's event by Portugal, who emerged victorious Sunday evening from the 2018 FIVB Challenger Cup, with a four-set win at home in Matosinhos over the Czech Republic.

After 120 matches, 446 sets and more than 20,134 rallies lasting a total of 211 hours and 11 minutes of amazing, action-packed volleyball in all four corners of the earth, it's down to the last six. The stage is set for an exhilarating battle, from July 4-8 in Lille for the title of inaugural VNL champion.

The line-up for Lille doesn't get much better than this:

• France (hosts): 12-3 in the VNL, 2015 European champions, two-time FIVB World League winners
• Russia: 11-4 in the VNL, four-time Olympic gold medallists, six-time world champions, six-time FIVB World Cup winners, three-time FIVB World League winners, 14-time European champions (including last time around in 2017)
• USA: 11-4 in the VNL, three-time Olympic champions, 1986 world champions, two-time FIVB World Cup winners, four-time Pan American Games champions
• Serbia: 11-4 in the VNL, Sydney 2000 Olympic champions, 2016 FIVB World League winners, two-time European champions
• Brazil: 10-5 in the VNL, three-time Olympic champions (including last time around at Rio 2016), three-time world champions, two-time FIVB World Cup winners, nine-time FIVB World League winners, four-time Pan American Games champions, 31-time South American champions
• Poland: 10-5 in the VNL, Montreal 1976 Olympic champions, two-time world champions (including last time around in 2014), 2012 FIVB World League winners, 2009 European champions

The 2018 VNL Final Six in Lille will be split into two pools:

Pool A: France, Serbia, Brazil
Pool B: Russia, USA, Poland

Russia will join USA and Poland in Pool B of the Finals in Lille

Two teams from each pool will go through to the semifinals, before the VNL culminates in the final two nations going head to head for the ultimate honour of being crowned champion.

To buy your tickets for the VNL’s show-stopping Finals, click here.

Quick links: FIVB Volleyball Nations League
Men's teams
Competition information



All the News